Number of Districts in UP – Know the Count!

Uttar Pradesh, commonly known as UP, is India’s most populous state and the fourth-largest by area. The state’s administrative units are divided into districts for the effective governance and administration of the region. As of 2021, the number of districts in Uttar Pradesh stands at 75.

Understanding the District System in Uttar Pradesh

What is a District?

A district is an administrative division within a state or country, usually arranged by the government to manage various administrative functions efficiently. It serves as a localized area that facilitates governance, law enforcement, and provision of public services.

Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, often referred to as the heartland of India, is a state with a rich cultural heritage and diverse demographics. The state is subdivided into districts, each headed by a District Magistrate who is responsible for maintaining law and order, overseeing developmental activities, and coordinating with state government departments.

Evolution of Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh has undergone several changes in its district structure since its formation. The state initially had a total of 48 districts. However, over the years, with the growing population and administrative requirements, the number of districts in Uttar Pradesh has increased to the current count of 75.

List of Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Here is a list of the 75 districts in Uttar Pradesh as of 2021:

  1. Agra
  2. Aligarh
  3. Allahabad
  4. Ambedkar Nagar
  5. Amethi
  6. Amroha
  7. Auraiya
  8. Azamgarh
  9. Baghpat
  10. Bahraich
  11. Ballia
  12. Balrampur
  13. Banda
  14. Barabanki
  15. Bareilly
  16. Basti
  17. Bijnor
  18. Budaun
  19. Bulandshahr
  20. Chandauli
  21. Chitrakoot
  22. Deoria
  23. Etah
  24. Etawah
  25. Faizabad
  26. Farrukhabad
  27. Fatehpur
  28. Firozabad
  29. Gautam Buddha Nagar
  30. Ghaziabad
  31. Ghazipur
  32. Gonda
  33. Gorakhpur
  34. Hamirpur
  35. Hapur
  36. Hardoi
  37. Hathras
  38. Jalaun
  39. Jaunpur
  40. Jhansi
  41. Kannauj
  42. Kanpur Dehat
  43. Kanpur Nagar
  44. Kanshiram Nagar
  45. Kaushambi
  46. Kushinagar
  47. Lakhimpur Kheri
  48. Lalitpur
  49. Lucknow
  50. Maharajganj
  51. Mahoba
  52. Mainpuri
  53. Mathura
  54. Mau
  55. Meerut
  56. Mirzapur
  57. Moradabad
  58. Muzaffarnagar
  59. Pilibhit
  60. Pratapgarh
  61. Rae Bareli
  62. Rampur
  63. Saharanpur
  64. Sambhal
  65. Sant Kabir Nagar
  66. Shahjahanpur
  67. Shamli
  68. Shravasti
  69. Siddharthnagar
  70. Sitapur
  71. Sonbhadra
  72. Sultanpur
  73. Unnao
  74. Varanasi
  75. Chitrakoot Dham

Importance of Districts in Governance

Districts play a crucial role in the governance structure of Uttar Pradesh. They serve as the focal points for addressing various administrative, developmental, and law enforcement activities within their territorial jurisdiction. Some key aspects highlighting the importance of districts include:

Local Administration

Districts act as decentralized units of administration, ensuring effective implementation of government policies and schemes at the grassroots level. The District Magistrate, along with other district-level officers, plays a pivotal role in the local administration.

Law and Order

Maintaining law and order is one of the primary responsibilities of district authorities. They work closely with the police department to ensure peace and security in the region. Districts are also instrumental in managing any civil disturbances or emergencies that may arise.

Developmental Activities

Districts are crucial in driving developmental initiatives and projects within their boundaries. They work towards improving infrastructure, healthcare facilities, education, agriculture, and other key sectors to enhance the quality of life for residents.

Elections and Voter Registration

During elections, districts play a significant role in conducting free and fair polls. They oversee voter registration, polling booth arrangements, security deployment, and result compilation within their districts.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. How many districts were there in Uttar Pradesh before the creation of new districts?

Before the creation of new districts, Uttar Pradesh had 71 districts. However, with the addition of new districts, the count increased to 75.

2. Which is the largest district in Uttar Pradesh by area?

Lakhimpur Kheri is the largest district in Uttar Pradesh by area. It is known for its agricultural significance and natural beauty.

3. How are districts in Uttar Pradesh named?

Districts in Uttar Pradesh are usually named after important towns or cities within their geographical boundaries. Some districts may also derive their names from historical, cultural, or geographical significance.

4. Is there a process for creating new districts in Uttar Pradesh?

The creation of new districts in Uttar Pradesh is a prerogative of the state government. It involves a detailed administrative and legislative process, including consultations with relevant stakeholders and ensuring the feasibility and necessity of the new district.

5. What is the role of a District Magistrate in Uttar Pradesh?

The District Magistrate, also known as the Collector or Deputy Commissioner, is the senior-most executive magistrate responsible for district administration. They play a pivotal role in maintaining law and order, coordinating government initiatives, and overseeing various administrative functions in the district.


Districts in Uttar Pradesh form the cornerstone of the state’s administrative structure, facilitating effective governance, development, and law enforcement at the grassroots level. Understanding the significance of districts and their functions is essential for comprehending the state’s overall administrative framework and social dynamics. As Uttar Pradesh continues to evolve and grow, the role of districts will remain paramount in driving progress and ensuring welfare for its diverse population.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *