The A – Z Of Bigg Boss


Bigg Boss is an Indian reality television game show franchise based on the Dutch reality show Big Brother. It is produced by Endemol Shine India through Viacom18 and Disney Star. Subsequently, the various versions of the show are made internationally available through OTT platforms Voot (find bigg boss 11 27th december 2017) and Disney+ Hotstar

1. What is Bigg Boss?

Bigg Boss is an Indian reality television game show franchise based on the Dutch reality show Big Brother. It is produced by Endemol Shine India through Viacom18 and Disney Star. Subhash Chandra and Bollywood actor Salman Khan formalized a partnership with Endemol, the reality TV show company who had created such programmes as Big Brother in Europe. The show was an instant success and within weeks of its launch on 18 September 2006, Bigg Boss became one of the top-rated shows.

2.Who was the first winner of Bigg Boss?

Bollywood actor Salman Khan won the first prize money of Rs 75 lakhs in the first season of Bigg Boss. Other contestants included Yuvika Chaudhary, Ashmit Patel, Ajaz Khan, Rahul Roy and Urvashi Dholakia. The first winner of Bigg Boss was Sushmita Sen (Season 1) in 2007. In 2008 Model-actress Shweta Tiwari won the title, followed by Feroz Khan (2009), Rimi Sen (2010) and Gautam Gulati (2011).

3. When is Bigg Boss season 1 scheduled to start?

The first season of Bigg Boss, which was originally planned to have 10 contestants, began on 18 September 2006. The show ended on 27 November the same year with Sushmita Sen emerging as winner, and the second series began at the same time in 2007 with 9 participants. In 2008, Shweta Tiwari won the title and Sushmita Sen came second while in 2009, it was Feroz Khan who emerged winner while Rimi Sen took second place. Gautam Gulati won the title in 2011 and a new season began on August 31 that year with 12 participants.


4.Who are the judges of Bigg Boss?

Vivek Oberoi (born Vivek Prabhakaran on 26 November 1974) is an Indian actor, producer and a former model who appears in Bollywood films. He is the recipient of several awards, including two Filmfare Awards and six IIFA Awards. Salman Khan is the host of this show and also judges it. Bigg Boss is judged by actor Anil Kapoor who replaced Amitabh Bachchan after he walked out of the show in 2008 over a pay dispute.

5. When did Bigg Boss start gaining popularity?

Bigg Boss transformed from a B-grade TV show to a cult phenomenon when in 2007, the first season saw television actor Armaan Kohli taking part in the reality show and then getting arrested for using hard drugs. The show became a rage with 10 million viewers tuning in and one million more taking advantage of the online feed. The season ended with the arrest of Armaan and the second season, held at the same time in 2008, saw actress Shweta Tiwari winning the title, followed by actor Feroz Khan.

6. When is Bigg Boss season 3 scheduled to start?

In 2014, it was reported that the show would be returning on Colors TV in July 2014 with Salman Khan as host and judges. A third season of Bigg Boss began on 28 November 2011 with 12 contestants and concluded two months later on 15 January 2012. The winner was Akshay Kumar, who took home Rs 50 lakhs as his end-of-season prize money.

7. Where is Bigg Boss season 4 scheduled to start?

Bigg Boss season 4 began on 23 June 2012. The winner was Prince Narula.

8. Who have been the winners of Bigg Boss so far?

Akshay Kumar won season three, Prince Narula won season four and in September 2012, VJ Andy of the Channel [V] show MTV Splitsvilla was declared winner of the fifth edition of Big Boss by beating Rimi Sen and Karishma Kotak in a public poll conducted by Star TV. In 2015, Kangana Ranaut won Season 7, which had Salman Khan as host for this season as well.

9. Who has been the runner-up of Bigg Boss so far?

Akshay Kumar was runner-up in season three, Rimi Sen was runner-up in season four and actor Rahul Mahajan was runner-up in season 5. Shweta Tiwari was the second runner up of the first season.

10. What is Bigg Boss season 5 scheduled to start?

A fifth season of Bigg Boss started on 26 June 2013 but ended on 24 August 2013, when actress (and former winner) Karishma Kotak was crowned its winner. There are plans to relaunch the show in 2019 with a new batch of contestants, following a one-year break in 2018.


The series was first broadcast on 18 September 2006 and continued for 106 days until 27 November 2006. In 2007, it was announced that the show would return with a new season. Season 2 aired on 9 July 2007 and concluded on 15 September 2007. Bigg Boss is one of the most popular reality television shows in India. It has been a favorite among Indians and non-Indians all over the world. Let us know your views in the comments and share Happy!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here